Channel O names awards nominees

The Awards ceremony will he held at Gallagher Estate in Johannesburg on Saturday 14 October. The event will be recorded and broadcast on Channel O on October 21 at 20:00 CAT.

A total of 70 artists from 10 different countries have produced this year’s nominees in the 19 categories.

Topping the nominations with four nods each are Didge and Lizha James from Kenya and Mozambique respectively. Hot on their heels is Nigeria’s Dare and 2Face and South Africans Freshlyground and Simphiwe Dana with three nominations each.

Now in their third year, the Channel O AMVA’s are unique in that videos are voted for by viewers, giving fans complete control over who receives an award.

Criteria used for shortlisting were technical quality, frequency of requests for a video on the different Channel O shows and overall creativity.

The videos need to have been released between January 2005 and May 2006 and should have received airplay on Channel O. Channel O General Manager Yolisa Phahle is sure that the nominations reflect the diverse and growing music industry on the continent.

“We are seeing videos of increasingly high quality and this is a direct reflection of the industry’s growth,” she says.

“At Channel O we look to strike a balance between promoting the up and coming big names of tomorrow alongside established artists. This year some of the newer names are also producing outstanding music and high quality videos”.

Viewers and fans will be able to vote for their favourite artists by SMS or voting online. Voting starts on Friday 25 August until Friday 6 October. The complete list of nominees is:

August 2006
« Jul   Sep »