SA film industry proves formidable force at AMVCAs

By Jonathan Mbiriyamveka

HARARE – South Africa led Southern Africa to glory at the recently held Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA) after bagging five accolades in the fifth edition of the showcase dominated by Nigerian films. 

Oddly enough, there were no other countries from Southern Africa that made it to AMVCAs this year except for South Africa, which defied the odds at the spectacular event held at the Eko Hotel in Lagos Nigeria.

South Africa won Best Cinematographer for the acclaimed film ‘Happiness is a Four Letter Word’ that also features Zimbabwe-born Hollywood actor Tongai Arnold Chirisa, Best Writer – ‘Vaya’, Best Movie SA – ‘All About Love’, Best Sound Editing –‘Vaya’ and Best Documentary – ‘Alison’.

Like last year, delectable South African television presenter Minnie Dlamini co-hosted the show with Nigeria’s IK.

The two gelled and made their presence felt on stage enchanting audiences with their flawless delivery.

The evening was lit up with performances by renowned musicians Timi Dakolo, Lira and Waje. Other performances included The Voice Nigeria winner Arese’s tribute to departed actors, and the stunning renditions by other Voice alumni Chike and DNA.

A special highlight of the evening was the performance by dancers from the stable of Bolanle Austen-Peters Productions.

At the end of the evening, some of Africa’s biggest titles took top honours while there were surprises in other categories.

The AMVCA is the biggest celebration of film and television talent across Africa with the first edition holding in 2013.

This year saw top contenders from across Africa competing for honours in a number of voting, non-voting and online polling categories including the newly introduced recognition award for M-Net’s original productions.

And the winners are:

• Best Shortfilm – Ogo Okpue – Cat Face

• Best Sound Track/Original Score Movie/TV Series – Michael ‘The Truth’ Ogunlade – The Encounter

• Best Sound Editor (Movie/TV Series) – Guy Steerr – Vaya

• Best Picture Editor (Movie/TV Series) – Nnodim Chigozie & Paula Peterson – Oloibiri

• Best Costume Designer Pat Egwurube

• Best Make Up Artist (Movie/TV Series) – Hakeem Onilogbo Ajibola/Perekeme Odon – Oloibiri

• Best Art Director (Movie/TV Series) – Pat Nebo

• Best Writer Movie/TV Series – Craig Freimond/ Tshabalira Lebakeng/Anothony Mafela/David Majoka/Madoda Ntuli/Harriet Perlman/Robbie Thorpe – Vaya

• Best Cinematographer (Movie/TV Series) – Lance Gewer – Happiness is a four Letter Word

• Best Lighting Designer (Movie/TV Series) – Elliot Sewape – 93 DAYS

• Best Documentary – Uga Carlini – Alison

• Best Actor In A Drama – David Jones David

• Best Actress In A Drama – Meg Otanwa

• Best Drama – Tinsel

• Best Actress In A Comedy – Deborah Anungwa

• Best Actor In A Comedy- Samuel Ajibola

• Best Comedy – The Johnsons

• Best Movie (South Africa) – Elvis Chuks – All About Love

• Best Movie (East Africa) – Sarika Hemi Lakhani – Kati Kati

• Best Movie (West Africa) – Rogers Ofime – Oloibiri

• Best Television Series – Funke Akindele – Jenifas Diary

• Best Indigenous Language Movie Or TV Series – Swahili – Daudi Otieno Anguka – Zilizala

• Best Indigenous Language Movie Or TV Series – Igbo – Crey Ahanonu – Amonye-Bu-Onye

• Best Indigenous Language Movie Or TV Series – Hausa – Tijjani Shedu Yahaya – Yaki Da Zuciya

• Best Indigenous Language Movie Or TV Series – Yoruba – Abiodun Jimoh, Jumoke Odetola – Somewhere In The Dark

• Best Actor In A Comedy Movie/TV Series – Imeh Bishop Umoh – The Boss Is Mine

• Best Actress In A Comedy Movie/TV Series            Funke Akindele – Jenifas Diary

• Best Actor In A Drama Movie/TV Series – Sambasa Nzeribe – Slow Country

• Best Actress In A Drama Movie/TV Series – Rita Dominic

• Best Supporting Actor In A Dama Movie/TV Series – Rotimi Salami – Just Not Married

• Best Supporting Actress In A Dama Movie/TT Series – Ebele Okaro Onyuike – Four One Love

• Best Director (Movie) – Izu Ojukwu

• Best Overall Movie – Adonijah Owiriwa/ Izu Ojukwu

March 2017
« Feb   Apr »