Newcomers top SAMAs nominations

By Ano Shumba

IT seems like the Mabala Noise record label might be saved for the time being from the ‘noise’ that accused it of influencing the results of this year’s Metro FM Music Awards, which saw South African rapper Nasty C bag four awards. Now the young artist tops the list of nominees for the 2017 South African Music Awards (SAMAs) with a total of six nominations. 

The SAMAs nominee announcements were held at the Destiny Exclusive Hotel in Kempton Park, Johannesburg, on Thursday evening. The 23rd edition of the awards ceremony will be held at the Sun City Superbowl near Rustenburg on 27 May. The nominations list is dominated by new artists who released their debut or follow-up album in the previous year.

“This is the year newcomers take most of the limelight undoubtedly,” Recording Industry of South Africa (RiSA) CEO Nhlanhla Sibisi said. “It is truly encouraging to see so many young and new artists dominate the list. It can only bode well for the industry. The future is bright and we couldn’t be happier for them.”

Nasty C, gospel artist Dr Tumi and Afro-pop singer/songwriter Amanda Black are among the newcomers.

Nasty C’s debut album Bad Hair Extensions has earned him a nomination in the Album of the Year and Best Rap Album categories, while his videos ‘Don’t Do It’ and ‘Good Girls’ have him in the running for the Best Music Video Award. He has also been nominated for the Best Male Artist of the Year and Best Newcomer accolades.

Nasty C (real name David Junior Ngcobo) could not hide his excitement and took to Twitter. “God comes through every single time,” he wrote.

Kwesta, a rapper and songwriter signed to Urbantainment, bagged nominations for Best Album of the Year, Best Male Artist of the Year and Best Rap Album. He also got two nods in the Best Collaboration category to earn a total of five nominations.

Amanda Black, who led the pack with five nominations at the 2017 Metro FM Music Awards, is in fourth position with four nominations. She received nods in the Best Newcomer of the Year, Best Album of the Year, Best Female Artist of the Year and Best R&B Soul Reggae Album categories. 

The Best African Artist category was dominated by Zimbabwean artists Oliver Mtukudzi and Jah Prayzah. Botswana’s Vee Mampeezy, who was also among the nominees for the Metro FM Awards’ One Africa Award, receives a nomination together with Patoranking (Nigeria) and Vuyo Katsha (South Africa). Gospel musician Sfiso Ncwane, who passed away in December last year, is nominated in the Best Traditional Faith Music Album category. He will be competing posthumously against Spirit of Praise, Teboho and Zaza.

Meanwhile, top rapper Cassper Nyovest snubbed the SAMAs by not submitting his music for consideration. Last year, the musician wrote on social media: “I don’t want to win a SAMA any more. I’m good without them.”

Nonetheless, he has been credited on three songs that he featured on – a collaboration with Kwesta, a collaboration with Major League and a Coke Studio production.

Founded in 1995, the SAMAs are owned by RiSA and are held in late April or May every year, with the judging process starting about six months prior to the ceremony.

According to RiSA, artists who wish to enter their music for the SAMAs are required to pay a fee. RiSA members pay R650 ($50) excluding VAT while non-RiSA members pay R3 500. Artists are permitted to enter for one genre category only and are required to pay extra if they wish to enter the same album for technical categories such as Best Produced or Best Engineered album. In March this year, RiSA announced that it had attracted more than 700 entries for the nomination process. – Music In Africa

April 2017
« Mar   May »